The boxset

This comprehensive 4-DVD collection issued by the British Film Institute sees the long overdue release of the work of controversial British independent filmmaker Richard Woolley. In these stylistically and politically radical films Woolley explores themes of class and gender in contemporary society, and offers the viewer an uncompromising and thought-provoking perspective on the world around them. The films included here are Illusive Crime (1976), Telling Tales (1978), Brothers and Sisters (1981), Waiting for Alan (1984) and Girl from the South (1988). The collection also includes two early experimental short films Kniephofstrasse (1973) and Drinnen und Draussen (Inside and Outside) (1974), as well as interviews with the director.

"A serious and thorough artist, Woolley's films collectively encompass all those issues which are at the centre of critical debate" - Time Out

Buy on Amazon | Buy on the BFI Filmstore

The boxset contains:

Yorkshire Film Archive British Film Institute

  • "Richard Woolley has the rare gift of keeping you anxious to know what happens next"
  • David Robinson, The Times